Monday, 19 March 2012 10:17

LSP invites Citizens to be Candidates for forth coming MLC Elections from Mumbai Constituency






Mr. Justice B. N. Srikrishna, Judge Supreme Court of India (Retd), Chairperson, and Mr. A. K. Shende, A reputed arbitration advocate, Member and Dr. A. L. Sharada, Program Director of NGO "Population First", Member and Secretary General - Independent Election Authority of Lok Satta Party, Maharashtra.

Election of Candidate and Registration of "Executive" party members as Voters for Primaries and internal party elections:

1. Lok Satta Party, Maharashtra has decided to field candidate for Member of Legislative Council (MLC) of Maharshtra from the Graduate Constituency  of "Greater Mumbai". The elections are due in the month of June 2012. The entire Lok Satta Party Candidate election process is placed under the jurisdiction of this independent Election Authority for elections:

2. The Lok Satta Party has also opened its "Membership" under different categories. One of the categories is that of an "executive life " Member.

The last date of submission of fully completed forms is 24th March, 2012 [up to 12:30 pm]. Forms for "Nomination" of Candidates and for "Executive life Membership" will be available on payment of Rs. 25/- and Rs. 10/- respectively from Monday, 12th March, 2012 till Monday, 19th March 2012 at the following address between 11:00 AM to 07:00 PM

Lok Satta Party, Base unit no: 7, Byculla Service Industries Premises, Dadoji Konddeo Road, Byculla (East), Mumbai – 400 027 - 00 22 2377 2279

3. Those desiring to become candidates, please note the following, as applicable: -

On behalf of the Independent Election Authority


[Dr. A. L. Sharada]

Secretary General - Independent Election Authority

Date: 11th March, 2012

Place: Mumbai


Maharashtra State has Legislative Council (like Rajya Sabha) along with Legislative assembly (like Lok Sabha). 

The house never gets dissolve and1/3rd Members get elected every 2 years. The strength of Legislative Assembly is 78 members elected as under:

Ø 1/3rd By Assembly Members

Ø 1/3rd By local body Members

Ø 1/12th Graduate Constituencies

Ø 1/12th Teachers Constituencies

Ø 1/6th Nominated by Governor

Accordingly Maharashtra Legislative Council has 7 members from Graduates Constituencies. Out of seven one such constituency is Mumbai and another Konkan, which included Thane, which is up for elections in second half of June 2012. The voter registration for by Graduates for Graduate constituency are open and supplementary list of voters for electing MLC will be published in First week of June 2012.

Some important information;

Total Registered voters for Mumbai Constituency are 65000. Less than 40000 voted in last elections in 2006. The old voters are eligible to vote again. So the voters in 2012  will be old 65000 plus all new voters who register. So far about 6000 new voters have registered.

In the last election, Dr. Deepak Sawant polled 20,055 votes, Independent candidate Shri Atul V. Shah  9,606 votes, Congress Candidate Shri Manhas polled 7,510 votes and Janata Dal (Secular) candidate Shri Prabhakar Narkar got 868 votes.